October 19, 2021
  • October 19, 2021

Central American states take AASHTO honors

By on August 20, 2019 0

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

Six Midwestern states recently won awards for outstanding transportation projects from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

Eight projects representing Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin won the America’s Transportation Awards, which recognize state departments of transportation for leading projects to improve safety and promote Economic Growth.

This series of awards recognized projects ranging from the replacement of bridges to the reconfiguration of interchanges.


“For 12 years, the America’s Transportation Awards have recognized State DOT’s projects to make communities safer, less congested, and better connected,” said Carlos Braceras, President of AASHTO and Executive Director of Utah DOT. “Today’s regional winners demonstrate how state DOTs are working with local communities and their partners to develop innovative multimodal solutions that allow people and goods to travel by motor vehicle, scooter, bicycle. and on foot. “

The awards, jointly sponsored with the AAA and the United States Chamber of Commerce, recognize projects in three categories: quality of life / community development, best use of technology, and operational excellence.

The Wisconsin, Ohio, Missouri, and Illinois DOTs won quality of life / community development awards. The category has been divided based on cost, ranging from small (under $ 25 million) and medium (between $ 25 million and $ 200 million) to large (over $ 200 million) projects.

Wisconsin DOT won in the small category for the replacement of a bridge in Eau Claire heavily used by drivers, cyclists, joggers, kayakers and fishermen. Ohio DOT won in the middle class for the construction of the Martin Luther King Jr. interchange on Interstate 71 in Cincinnati.

“In addition to reducing commute times and making it easier for motorists to get around, the reconfigured interchange provides much-needed connectivity and will drive economic growth within the Uptown Cincinnati community,” said Tammy Campbell, Deputy Director of District 8 d ‘ODOT.

The Missouri and Illinois DOTs took home the award in the broad category for quality of life / community development projects. The agencies have teamed up to build a bridge to transport I-70 across the Mississippi River to reduce the need for traffic and freight in the St. Louis area.

“By working together, Illinois and Missouri have collaborated to make Metro East an even better place to live, work and raise a family,” said Acting Illinois Transportation Secretary Omer Osman. “This honor underscores our commitment to finding multimodal solutions as we rebuild Illinois.”

The Missouri, Illinois and Wisconsin DOTs again won in the Best Use of Technology division. Missouri won the award in the Small Projects category for being creative in its use of a “divergent” traffic alignment, which combines a divergent diamond interchange and roundabout. Illinois won the middle class for the modernization of Joliet Station, the first major rail station outside of Chicago and a major hub for freight and passengers. Wisconsin DOT won in the top class for the updated Milwaukee Interchange that leads to the Regional Medical Center and Zoo.

Michigan DOT and Minnesota DOT won the award for excellence in their operations. Michigan DOT won in the small category because it rebuilt and reallocated routes in Jackson to improve trade routes along I-94. Minnesota DOT won in the middle class for the reconstruction of the roads leading to the Smith Avenue High Bridge outside of St. Paul.

In addition to Mid-America, the AASHTO recognizes regional groups that encompass Southeast, Northeast, and West. The three top-rated projects from each region will compete for a grand prize, determined by an independent jury, and the People’s Choice Award, selected by the public through online voting.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *